返回新闻
产品展示AI Understanding 简报

英特尔的 Crescent Island AI 加速器获得更深入的 Hot Chips 架构细节

Tom’s Hardware 报道称,英特尔披露了 Crescent Island 的更多架构细节,Crescent Island 是一款 350 瓦风冷 AI 加速器,主要为推理和计算密集型工作负载而设计。

5 min readRead the original reporting
Source-provided image accompanying Intel’s Crescent Island AI accelerator gets deeper Hot Chips architecture details
归因报告来源记录
出版商
tomshardware.com
来源链接
tomshardware.comhttps://www.tomshardware.com/pc-components/gpus/hot-chips-2026-intel-dives-deep-on-crescent-island-ai-accelerator-larger-caches-and-deeper-xmx-engines-target-maximum-ai-flops-per-watt
来源类型
新闻媒体的报道——不是第一方文件。

我们无法独立确认的内容: 此声明归因于指定的商店。我们没有根据第一方文件对其进行验证。 (tomshardware.com)

背景60 秒内了解这一点

从这里开始

关键术语

内存(代理内存)
AI 代理跨步骤或会话使用存储的上下文来提高连续性。
推测性解码
一种推理加速方法,其中小型草稿模型提出令牌,大型模型并行验证。
推理
经过训练的模型生成预测或输出的运行时阶段。
测试一下自己AI 模型解释测验

发生了什么

Tom’s Hardware reports that Intel used Hot Chips 2026 to provide additional technical details about Crescent Island, an -focused AI accelerator based on the Xe3P architecture. The company describes the 350-watt, air-cooled PCIe card as an option for conventional data centers, with up to 480 GB of LPDDR5X memory. Intel has not disclosed final FLOPS or memory-bandwidth figures.

Tom’s Hardware reports that Intel shared more information about Crescent Island at the Hot Chips 2026 symposium. The article describes the product as a 350-watt, air-cooled PCIe card with up to 480 GB of LPDDR5X memory. Intel is positioning it as an -first accelerator that can fit into traditional servers, contrasting it with higher-power accelerators such as Nvidia’s Rubin and AMD’s MI455X, which the report describes as liquid-cooled products using large pools of HBM4 memory for both training and inference. These comparisons reflect the positioning presented in the report and are not independently verified here.

Tom’s Hardware reports that Crescent Island consists of four Xe3P slices, each with eight Xe Cores, for 32 Xe Cores in total. Each core contains eight Xe Vector Engines and eight XMX matrix accelerators, producing 256 of each resource across the chip. The report says each Xe3P core has 1 MB of general-purpose register-file space, twice the amount attributed to Battlemage, plus 512 KB of L1 cache or shared local memory. The accelerator also includes 32 MB of shared L2 cache. Intel’s stated rationale, according to the article, is to keep more working data close to the matrix engines and improve utilization.

The report says Xe3P’s XMX engines use a 16-deep systolic design, compared with the four-deep design described for Intel’s Xe2 and Xe3 architectures. Tom’s Hardware reports that Intel supports data types ranging from MXFP4, a microscaled FP4 format, to full-rate FP64 processing through 64 FP64 fused-multiply-add units per Xe Core. The article also says each core supports sigmoid and tanh functions, which are used in operations such as softmax. Crescent Island includes four media encoders and four decoders for video workloads associated with multimodal AI models, while graphics-specific features such as ray-tracing cores were omitted to preserve die area for compute.

Tom’s Hardware reports that Intel is targeting mixture-of-experts models and , in addition to prefill, or prompt processing and key-value-cache construction. The article explains that speculative decoding uses a smaller mechanism to draft possible future tokens before a larger model accepts or rejects them, creating additional compute demand. Because LPDDR5X generally offers less bandwidth than HBM, the report says this workload mix could help Crescent Island focus on compute-bound tasks rather than compete directly for every memory-bandwidth-intensive decode operation. Intel has promised a second-half-2026 timeframe, but the report says it has not disclosed theoretical FLOPS, memory bandwidth, final specifications, or customer wins.

来源详情: tomshardware.com ↗

为什么这很重要

Crescent Island represents Intel’s attempt to compete in AI infrastructure through a lower-power, easier-to-deploy accelerator rather than a maximum-performance, liquid-cooled product built around HBM. The design could be relevant to data centers seeking more compute for model prefill and other stages without major power and cooling upgrades, although the report contains no independent performance testing or confirmed customer deployments.

The significance of Crescent Island is its tradeoff between performance density and deployment practicality. Tom’s Hardware reports that Intel is pursuing an air-cooled, 350-watt PCIe design that could operate in existing server environments. If that design delivers useful performance without specialized liquid cooling or major facility upgrades, it could give operators another way to add AI capacity. That potential is architectural, however: the source does not provide independent benchmarks, power measurements, or evidence that customers have deployed the product at scale.

The report’s emphasis on prefill and matters because AI serving is not a single workload. Tom’s Hardware says traditional autoregressive decoding can be heavily constrained by memory bandwidth, while prefill and speculative-draft generation can place greater demands on computation. A lower-power accelerator that handles those stages could potentially be paired with more bandwidth-oriented hardware in a heterogeneous system. The article points to possible alignment with SambaNova’s SN50 accelerators, which it describes as designed to benefit from disaggregated prefill processing, but it does not report a confirmed commercial deployment between the two products.

Crescent Island also illustrates how AI accelerators are becoming specialized rather than simply pursuing the highest possible general-purpose throughput. Tom’s Hardware reports that Intel removed ray-tracing hardware and prioritized matrix engines, cache, reliability features, and support for several numerical formats. The inclusion of full-rate FP64, according to the report, could make the chip useful across both high-performance computing and AI, while ECC, parity, and other reliability features target data-center operation. Those capabilities may broaden the product’s appeal, but the report offers no workload results showing how it compares with established accelerators in scientific computing, model training, latency, or total operating cost.

Interactive Mechanism

互动机制:它实际上是如何运作的

以交互方式探索这一发展背后的基础技术。

Document Size:128K tokens
Needle Placement Depth (Location in document):50% into text
Attention Context Buffer Map:
Target Fact (50%)
Equivalent Pages~320Standard book pages
Retrieval Accuracy99.9%Needle recall score
RAM / KV Cache5.1 GBMemory overhead
Prompt CachingActive~80% discount on reuse
Core takeaway: Million-token context windows allow querying whole codebases or legal archives in one prompt. However, KV cache memory scales with context length, making prompt caching crucial for real-time production.
交互式概念检查+10 Points
AI Models Explained Quiz

Which component of an AI application is the machine-learning model itself?

接下来看什么

The key questions are whether Crescent Island ships in the promised second half of 2026, what its final performance and memory-bandwidth specifications will be, and whether Intel can demonstrate advantages on real mixture-of-experts, speculative-decoding, and prefill workloads. Tom’s Hardware also says Intel has not yet disclosed customer or partner wins, leaving the product’s commercial traction unresolved.

The first test is whether Intel meets its promised second-half-2026 launch window. Tom’s Hardware reports that the company has disclosed the architecture but still has not provided the number most buyers would need to assess it: theoretical compute FLOPS. It also has not disclosed memory-bandwidth figures. Final clock speeds, sustained power behavior, product configurations, software support, pricing, and actual availability will determine whether the design’s lower-power positioning translates into a practical alternative.

Independent testing will be especially important. Reviewers and customers should look for measurements of prefill throughput, decode latency, speculative-decoding efficiency, mixture-of-experts performance, memory utilization, and FLOPS per watt across relevant precision formats. Tom’s Hardware reports Intel’s architectural rationale and claims, but the source does not include independent tests or a comparison with Nvidia Rubin, AMD MI455X, or other accelerators. Without those measurements, the product’s competitive position remains uncertain.

Commercial validation is another open question. Tom’s Hardware reports that Intel has not yet announced customer or partner wins for Crescent Island, although it describes potential compatibility with disaggregated prefill systems such as SambaNova’s SN50. Future disclosures should clarify whether customers use Crescent Island alone, pair it with HBM-based accelerators, or deploy it in other heterogeneous configurations. The most meaningful evidence will be confirmed shipments, production deployments, and reproducible results on real AI-serving workloads rather than architectural specifications alone.

相关指南和测验

人工智能模型解释人工智能培训AI 的未来测试你所知道的——尝试免费的人工智能测验在我们的词汇表中查找人工智能术语关注 AI 模型发布跟踪器
觉得这有用吗?